How do I register an antique car in New Jersey?

How do I register an antique car in New Jersey?

To purchase Historic plates in-person at select agencies

  1. Complete Application for Historic Vehicle Registration (Form SP-121)
  2. Bring two color photographs (can be printed on plain paper) of the vehicle: front view and side view (right or left).
  3. Bring a copy of your vehicle’s New Jersey title.
  4. Pay the $44 fee.

How old does a car have to be in NJ to be a classic?

25 years old
Historic registration may be assigned to an antique vehicle which is at least 25 years old. Historic registration must be renewed every three (3) years; there is no fee for renewal. Vehicle with historic registration must be covered by minimum automobile insurance coverage required by the State of New Jersey.

Does a classic car need inspection in NJ?

Historic vehicles General inspections are not required for historic or collector vehicles. To be classified as a “historic vehicle” it must be: At least 25 years old.

What must every vehicle registered in New Jersey be insured for?

Car insurance is mandatory in the state of New Jersey. Every driver who has a vehicle that is registered with the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC) is required to carry three types of auto insurance—personal liability insurance, uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage and no-fault insurance.

How much does it cost to register a car in NJ?

You’ll need to get a temporary registration, valid for 30 days, at any NJ MVC Agency. Bring your current title (signed over to you), proof of your current address, and proof of insurance. The fee is $5. How much will I pay in registration fees for my new car?

What do I need to register my car in NJ?

In order to register your vehicle with the NJ MVC, you’ll need to be able to provide the vehicle title, proof of insurance, your Social Security number, an odometer reading, and payment for your registration fee and sales tax. If you are a new resident to the state, you’ll also need to have your car inspected after you register.

How do I sell a car in NJ?

The buyer must: Sign the back of the vehicle title and include his or her NJ driver’s license number. Go to any New Jersey MVC office to officially transfer the title, complete registration, and receive their new license plates. Pay the required $60 fee. $85 for a title with a lien.

What are the requirements for historic plates in NJ?

Classic Car Plates in NJ. The NJ MVC offers vintage license plates to vehicles that meet eligibility requirements. Your vehicle is eligible for a Historic plate if it is: At least 25 years old. Used ONLY for exhibition purposes. Unaltered from the manufacturer’s original design. Equipped for legal operation on NJ roadways.

Begin typing your search term above and press enter to search. Press ESC to cancel.

Back To Top