What is Chennai city limit?

What is Chennai city limit?

In 2018, the district’s limits were expanded, aligning with that of the newly expanded Greater Chennai Corporation, which annexed adjacent municipalities. It resulted in the area being increased from 175 square kilometres (68 sq mi) to 426 square kilometres (164 sq mi).

Which areas come under greater Chennai Corporation?

The city is classified into three regions: North Chennai, Central Chennai and South Chennai.

Will Chennai be expanded?

“The changes, if any, will be carried out only after the public consultation,” said a senior government official. Initially, the previous government planned to expand the CMA from 1,189 sq km to 8,878 sq km. The expansion as envisaged under the earlier plan could make Chennai the second largest city in India.

Which zone is Chennai?

The city of Chennai in Tamil Nadu, India, is managed by the Corporation of Chennai. Established as Madras Corporation in 1688, it is the oldest municipal body in India….Zones.

Zone Thiru. Vi. Ka. Nagar
Division 64–78
Assembly constituency Thiru. Vi. Ka. Nagar/Perambur/Kolathur/Egmore
Parliamentary constituency Chennai North

How many municipalities are there in Chennai?

nine municipalities
As many as nine municipalities, eight town panchayats and twenty five village panchayats have been brought under the Chennai Corporation limits, raising the city population from 46.81 lakh to 62.2 lakh (as per 2011 Census).

Which zone is koyambedu?

Ward Name Zone Name

Is Chengalpattu Metro?

The CMA consists of the core city of Chennai, which is coterminous with the Chennai district, and its suburbs in Kanchipuram, Chengalpattu, and Thiruvallur districts….Chennai metropolitan area.

Greater Chennai Chennai Metropolitan Area
Districts Chennai and parts of Kancheepuram Chengalpattu and Tiruvallur districts

Which municipalities will be part of the expanded Chennai Corporation?

The municipalities that would be part of the expanded Chennai Corporation are Kathivakkam, Tiruvottiyur, Manali, Madhavaram, Ambattur, Maduravoyal, Valasaravakkam, Alandur and Ullagaram-Puzhudhivakkam. The town panchayats are Chinna Sekkadu, Puzhal, Porur, Nandambakkam, Meenambakkam, Perungudi, Pallikaranai and Sholinganallur.

How big is Chennai’s city limits?

Chennai’s city limits are set to expand by over 7,000 sq km. On January 22, the Tamil Nadu government issued a notification bringing 1,709 villages of the neighbouring districts of Tiruvallur, Kancheepuram and Vellore under the Chennai Metropolitan Development Area. This will take the city’s area from 1,189 sq km to over 8,878 sq km.

How many town panchayats were absorbed by Chennai Corporation?

Chennai Corporation absorbed seven municipalities, three town panchayats and 13 panchayat unions in Tiruvallur district and two municipalities, five town panchayats and 12 panchayat unions in Kanchipuram district.

Is Chennai’s expansion plan focused on developing the surrounding areas?

But the current expansion plan seems to be focused on developing Chennai at the cost of its surrounding areas. “Centralisation leads to inefficiency,” said Subramanian. “Now that the entire area is a metropolitan area, the focus would be only urban development.

Begin typing your search term above and press enter to search. Press ESC to cancel.

Back To Top