What is NHS Specialised commissioning?

What is NHS Specialised commissioning?

Specialised services support people with a range of rare and complex conditions. They often involve treatments provided to patients with rare cancers, genetic disorders or complex medical or surgical conditions.

What is specialist commissioning?

What is specialised commissioning? Specialised services are generally provided in relatively few hospitals and accessed by small numbers of patients. They are usually for patients who have rare conditions or who need a specialised team working together at a centre.

What is clinical commissioning groups in England?

Clinical commissioning groups (CCGs) were established as part of the Health and Social Care Act in 2012, and replaced Primary Care Trusts on 1 April 2013. CCGs are groups of general practices (GPs) which come together in each area to commission the best services for their patients and population.

What is a highly specialized service?

What are highly specialised services? Highly specialised services are provided to a smaller number of patients compared to specialised services; usually no more than 500 patients per year. For this reason they are typically best delivered nationally through a very small number of centres of excellence.

What is specialist service?

What are Specialist Services? Specialist services support people with a range of rare and complex conditions, this can include treatments provided to patients with complex medical or surgical conditions, rare cancers or genetic disorders.

Who are specialist services?

How are services commissioned?

Commissioning is the process of procuring health services. It is a complex process, involving the assessment and understanding of a population’s health needs, the planning of services to meet those needs and securing services on a limited budget, then monitoring the services procured.

Is a CCG part of the NHS?

Clinical commissioning groups (CCGs) were created following the Health and Social Care Act in 2012, and replaced primary care trusts on 1 April 2013. They are clinically-led statutory NHS bodies responsible for the planning and commissioning of health care services for their local area.

Are CCGs part of NHS England?

CCGs are assured by NHS England, which retains responsibility for commissioning primary care services such as GP and dental services, as well as some specialised hospital services. Many GP services are now co-commissioned with CCGs.

What are the specialized services?

Related Definitions Specialized services means any program or service designed and operated to serve primarily individuals with developmental disabilities, including a program or service provided by an entity licensed or certified by the department.

How many specialised services are there in the NHS?

In total, there are 146 specialised services directly commissioned by NHS England. Four factors determine whether NHS England commissions a service as a prescribed specialised service. These are: The number of people able to provide the service or facility and

How do I contact the specialised commissioning team?

For any general enquiries about specialised commissioning, please email the specialised commissioning team (please do not send urgent correspondence to this address). If your query relates to a Clinical Reference Group, please email [email protected].

Where can I find consultations and engagement exercises on the NHS?

Current consultations and engagement exercises can be found on the NHS England Consultation Hub. Take a look at the commissioning of specialised services consultations and engagement exercises.

What is spent on specialised services in the UK?

The number of people able to provide the service or facility and The financial implications for Clinical Commissioning Groups (CCGs) if they were required to arrange for provision of the service or facility themselves. In 2018/19, £17.2 billion was spent on specialised services.

Begin typing your search term above and press enter to search. Press ESC to cancel.

Back To Top