Who won the 2014 Stanley Cup playoffs?

Who won the 2014 Stanley Cup playoffs?

Los Angeles Kings
2014 Stanley Cup Finals/Champion

The 2014 Stanley Cup playoffs of the National Hockey League (NHL) began on April 16, 2014, and ended June 13, 2014 when the Los Angeles Kings defeated the New York Rangers four games to one in the Stanley Cup Finals.

How does the second round of the NHL playoffs work?

The top four teams in each division earned a playoff berth, with the first two rounds played entirely within each division. The winner of each series within the division will face off in the second round. The winner of each of those ensuing four series will advance to the Stanley Cup semifinals.

How does Stanley Cup playoffs Work 2021?

Once the divisions wrap up their play, the four remaining teams advance to the Stanley Cup semifinals. The four teams will be re-seeded based on their regular-season point totals with the team with the most points facing the team with the fewest. The winners of the semis battle it out in the 2021 Stanley Cup Final.

What is the most games played in a Stanley Cup Finals?

Los Angeles played all three of their game sevens on the road. Game five of the Stanley Cup Finals marked the 93rd game of the 2014 playoffs, eclipsing the previous single-year record 92 established in 1991; this remains the record for the most games played using a sixteen team playoff format.

What happened to the San Jose Sharks in 2014 Stanley Cup?

The San Jose Sharks became the fourth team in Stanley Cup playoff history to lose a series after holding a 3–0 lead; as the Los Angeles Kings came back to win the series in game seven of the First Round on April 30, 2014.

What are the first two rounds of the NHL playoffs called?

Beginning in 2013–14, the NHL officially changed the names of the first two rounds of the playoffs from Conference Quarterfinal/Semifinal to First/Second Round. The Boston Bruins won the Presidents’ Trophy for earning the league’s best record, with 117 points.

Which California-based hockey teams made the playoffs for the third time?

For the third time in four years, all three California-based teams again made the playoffs. The Columbus Blue Jackets won their first franchise playoff game on April 19, 2014, and their first ever franchise playoff home game at Nationwide Arena on April 23, 2014, both against the Pittsburgh Penguins.

Begin typing your search term above and press enter to search. Press ESC to cancel.

Back To Top